CVM 4th Year Student Awards Presented

VM4 Morgan Pearson was presented the Veterinary Medicine Alumni Association’s Gentle Doctor Award by Dr. Meg Musser. The award is nominated by VM4 students and is based on exemplification of the ideals of the veterinary medical profession.

April 27, 2021

The College of Veterinary Medicine has presented awards and scholarships to the DVM graduating class of 2021.

The awards were presented Wednesday, April 28, at a ceremony co-sponsored by the Iowa Veterinary Medical Association.

Recipients included:

  • American Association of Feline Practitioners Outstanding Senior Award - Antonia Gallen
  • American College of Veterinary Ophthalmology Award - Ashley Mauer
  • American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine (ACVIM) Certificate of Clinical Excellence - Bobbi Zelewski, large animal; Elizabeth Hines, small animal; and Jodi Pollema, small animal
  • American College of Veterinary Pathologists Outstanding Achievement, Proficiency and Interest in Veterinary Pathology Award - Maya Hester
  • American College of Veterinary Radiology Senior Award - Jeremy Brozek
  • AAVD Dermatology Senior Veterinary Student Award - Leah Kasmark
  • Award for Clinical Proficiency in Surgery - Rita Neat, large animal, and Tyler Hawbecker, small animal
  • G.G. Graham Prize (Large Animal) - Megan Seewald
  • G.G. Graham Prize (Small Animal) - Monique Reid
  • Margaret A. Haines Scholarship in Equine Medicine and Surgery - Molly O'Brien
  • IVMA Foundation Sustaining Involvement with the IVMA Scholarship - Kortney Sherburne, Rachel Stika, Samantha Naberhaus, Annika Johnson, Matthew Finch, Erin Barrett, Morgan Pearson, Emily Meier and Elizabeth Schmit
  • IVMA Future Service Scholarship - Dylan Boyer, Megan Collison, Kelsey Deaver, Ashley Swanson, Aislinn Ophoff and Joshua Fioretto
  • Bob Rosenthall Senior Student Award for Proficiency in Clinical Oncology - Courtney Loughran
  • Society for Theriogenology Proficiency in Theriogenology Award - Allison Pellerito
  • R.W. Carithers Award - Dominic Gentile
  • Veterinary Medicine Alumni Association "Gentle Doctor" Award - Morgan Pearson
  • Veterinary Medicine Alumni Association Scholarship Award - Josephine Lawrence
  • South Central Iowa VMA Scholarship - Nicholas Cullen
  • American Animal Hospital Association Award for Proficiency in Primary Care - Kelli Hamp
  • Emergency and Critical Care Award - Macenzie Johnson